Fifty Shades of Barf

I’m still angry at this controversy of Fifty Shades of Grey . . . It’s the TOP 3 BestSeller of Barnes and Noble and Note: It in the order of Trilogy

Book One reviews of Favorable Vs. Critical

Five Stars : Absolutely astounding

I’ve never come across a book like this in my life. The way Ana is torn between what she ‘thinks’ is right and what she feels with Mr. Grey. The author has an amazing way of easing Ana and the reader into the idea of S&M in a way that makes it seem more alluring than taboo. It’s possible I loved this book because of how much I could identify with Ana, feeling what she feels and understanding her fear as well as her lust. It’s a sharp contrast to similar books, such as Ann Rice’s Sleeping Beauty series, that throw you into the world of S&M.
I would recommend this even to those who consider bondage a little out of their range. Ana is a wonderful character, easily loved by the reader because of how real she is portrayed. Christian Grey is alluring and sexy as all get out made only more so by his own insecurities. Both characters are dynamic, growing with one another and forging a new path and relationship that neither of them understands or has ever experienced.
Two out of Five Stars : My IQ dropped as i was reading………
It read like it was written by a 5th grader.  If I had to read “inner goddess” or “oh my” one more time I think I would have poked my eyes out.  The erotic scenes were lukewarm, the plot was flimsy and the characters annoying.  The main character supposedly has never be…Read More
It read like it was written by a 5th grader.  If I had to read “inner goddess” or “oh my” one more time I think I would have poked my eyes out.  The erotic scenes were lukewarm, the plot was flimsy and the characters annoying.  The main character supposedly has never been outside the US but spoke like a British citizen.  This book dragged on for the sole purpose of allowing the author to make it a triilogy.  I won’t be wasting my money on the other two books.  What an overrated piece of drivel.

Book Two Reviews

Five Stars : How did she make it better than the first?

When I finished the first book in this series, Fifty Shades of Grey, I was very anxious to start Fifty Shades Darker. I have been an avid reader my entire life, but I’ve never read any books that invoke such a powerful feeling of reality and emotion as this series does….Read More
When I finished the first book in this series, Fifty Shades of Grey, I was very anxious to start Fifty Shades Darker. I have been an avid reader my entire life, but I’ve never read any books that invoke such a powerful feeling of reality and emotion as this series does. I had an urgent desire to find out what was next for Ana and Christian, I could so easily see both of them as being real. It was so easy for me to put myself in Ana’s place, to be her, to feel what she felt, and to think her thoughts. I know that I am completely enamored with a book and it’s characters when I feel as if my ‘real life’ gets in the way of exploring the world an author has set up for me, and that has happened with this series to the point that I am considering making an appointment with Dr. Flynn to talk about it. *grin*  These two people come together quite by accident, and despite their issues (or maybe because of their issues), find something MORE together…and truly, isn’t that what we all are really searching for in life?
One out of Five Stars : I read the first and second books of this series and had to stop
I read the first and second books of this series and had to stop there.  Honestly, I wanted to stop after the first, but I find it hard to start something and not finish.  The writing style is HORRIFIC.  6th grade level, if even that.  Once I learned it was written as T…Read More
I read the first and second books of this series and had to stop there.  Honestly, I wanted to stop after the first, but I find it hard to start something and not finish.  The writing style is HORRIFIC.  6th grade level, if even that.  Once I learned it was written as Twilight fan fiction, it made more sense.  I couldn’t imagine a serious author writing in this manner.  If I have to read about her “inner goddess” and how Christian smells, or how hot he is, ONE more time, I may fling this book across the room!  It’s just 300+ pages (per book) of sex and redundant cliches.  I’m baffled by all these 5 star reviews!

Book Three

Five Stars : WOW

This series is one of the best series I’ve ever read in my life.  I’ve never read such a moving book ever.  In some ways I wished the story would continue but in some ways I’m glad the author wrote it the way that she did and ended it.  One thing is is that I wished tha…Read More
This series is one of the best series I’ve ever read in my life.  I’ve never read such a moving book ever.  In some ways I wished the story would continue but in some ways I’m glad the author wrote it the way that she did and ended it.  One thing is is that I wished that I knew what Christian was thinking throughout the story.  Since this is a first person book from Ana’s perspective; that’s all that we see. 
Hey E. L. please write the story again in Christian’s point of view.  That would be awesome.
Two out of Five Stars : Book 3 Not Necessary, Save your $$
Don’t get me wrong, I really enjoyed the first two books (in spite of the glaring similarities to Twilight–down to the quotes). Don’t get me wrong, I really enjoyed the first two books (in spite of the glaring similarities to Twilight–down to the quotes).  However I worked my way through it and kept reading.  Book Three was unnecessary.  Ana keeps swooning over Christian, her annoying “inner goddess” keeps rearing her head, and yes Christian still smells like soap and that Christian smell.  Ugh!  I bought it so I felt obliged to finish reading it, but honestly the book lost steam and there is very little real story here … very little.  All in all STOP at book 2!!  Otherwise you might find yourself being  more than a little annoyed with Ana, I know I did!

Now there’s plans for a movie adaption! UGH! Can it get any worst? Here’s what People Magazine shared when they wrote an article on E.L James and how her husband was “Cooperative in Reasearch“?  http://www.people.com/people/article/0,,20592534,00.html

One of the more bold questions: How did James’s husband react to seeing her sexual fantasies on paper?
“It was a very considered study,” James joked of her research for the explicit sex in her books. “My husband still rolls his eyes and says ‘God, what do we got to do now?’ He was very cooperative.”
All I have to say is that if you want to read this book, re-read Twilight and imagine the sexual fantasies in parts where you think EL James places them. And I did always wonder what would 10 years later bring us for Twilight Francise and here’s my answer . . . the sick alternative version.
Leave a Reply

