Pretty in Pink: Before I Wake Review

I want to make this an all out review about Before I Wake . . .

Although Rachel Vincent isn’t fond of pink, neither does Kayless but they choose pink as the next cover color/dress for Kaylee to wear.

Now I had the privilege of winning a Kaylee quote last October and it was a quote from BIW “Turns out not even death can get you out of high school . . .”

While that quote was from the first page of BIW, I found others that I love as well, but first my review which has a few small spoilers (Hence you been Warned)

Before I Wake (Soul Screamers, #6)The Book Description

I died on a Thursday-killed by a monster intent on stealing my soul. The good news? He didn’t get it. The bad news? Turns out not even death will get you out of high school…  Covering up her own murder was one thing, but faking life is much harder than Kaylee Cavanaugh expected. After weeks spent “recovering,” she’s back in school, fighting to stay visible to the human world, struggling to fit in with her friends and planning time alone with her new reaper boyfriend. But to earn her keep in the human world, Kaylee must reclaim stolen souls, and when her first assignment brings her face-to-face with an old foe, she knows the game has changed. Her immortal status won’t keep her safe. And this time Kaylee isn’t just gambling with her own life….

My Review

Go Kaylee! Go Kaylee! It’s your Birthday! It’s your Birthday! Whoo!
Ok seriously this has been the best of the best of all Soul Screamer series, Praise to Rachel!
What happens to your life after you died? You become an extractor . . . similar to being a reaper but with more abilities and works in the Reclamation department.This includes a few things, you live for eternity, you don’t age, and you can make yourself see or unseen and heard. But the best part of all is spending your afterlife with the hottest Reaper boyfriend in town Tod Hudson.(You should have read IF I DIE if you didn’t know this part) Kaylee struggles with fitting back into the world after she was killed by an incubus teacher seeking a purity soul. Nash Hudson her now ex-boyfriend refuses all contact with his brother and hates Kaylee for framing him. Sabine on the other hand is trying to cut off the Kaylee addiction from Nash but he can’t help it . . . he still refuses to let her go. But we also loses a character in this series, it’s one you’ll never expect. The sixth book of this series brings back a few people from Kaylee’s past, and enemies. So many changes happen while Kaylee was recovering from death, like for example Emma’s new boyfriend, Sophie’s boyfriend who by the way is a necromancer, and somehow Harmony and Brendon? The Kaylee and Tod romance are to die for, making you wish that Tod Hudson was real! Kaylee’s dad struggles with the fast pace relationship between Tod and his daughter, but hey what father wouldn’t worries?

My thoughts . . .

I love how Kaylee is so grown up in this book but what I love even more is the chemistry she and Tod had, now don’;t get me wrong Nash and her had some chemistry between them but after Nash’s addiction that all change. Now Sabine and kaylee seems to have mended a small friendship a little before she died but that’s only because Sabine got what she wants . . . Nash. Although poor Nash is still struggling with betrayal, framing, and heartbreak, he even showed up at Kaylee’s house when he was drunk and that was funny. Then a twist in time where people from Kaylee’s past returns and that includes people from My Soul To Take, My Soul To Keep, and even If I Die.  So watch out!

Quotes I Love

“This is the only time /i feel real, Tod. Only when I’m touching you. I wish it could be like this forever.” ~ Kaylee

“Everytime I see you, I want to touch you, and I’m a little stunned eery time you do.” ~ Tod

“Because he knew it would traumatize you, and your trauma is like his chocolate-fudge brownie, It’s yummy.” ~ Alec

“You want me to be your understudy? I’m not sure I have the dark with to pull that off.” ~ Nash

“The world lost something when you died, Tod, and I know that wasn’t easy for your family. But the world’s loss was Kaylee’s gain. I hope the two of you hae the forever her mother and I never got.” ~ Kaylee’s Dad

Leave a Reply

